How To Cook

After getting annoyed that I had to look up how to properly make hard-boiled eggs, I decided to get a (digital) copy of “How to Cook Everything,” Mark Bittman’s highly acclaimed one-size-fits-all cookbook for the interested foodie.

I thought it would be cool to see what’s really important in cooking, so I copied the whole text and dumped it into a word cloud maker. (For those of you that don’t know, the bigger the word, the more frequent its use).

So here’s what I’m getting: everything I make needs to contain oil, garlic, salt, pepper, and a few minutes on the heat. Sounds about right to me.

A quick review: I’ve only read through the sauces and spices chapter, but I’ve already got dozens of recipes to learn. Delicious sounding variations are listed for everything as well. The book seems committed to teaching the basic framework for great cooking rather than focusing on memorizing recipes. I can already recommend it.

2 Comments

Filed under food

2 responses to “How To Cook

  1. Carly

    You know I love this post. Let me know if I can help you with anything!

    PS
    I still have trouble consistently making hard boiled eggs that peel smoothly. Let me know your tricks!

  2. ceisenhood

    @ Carly: Use older eggs. The fresher, the more difficult to peel.

    Rolling the eggs back and forth between your hands before peeling also helps.

Leave a Reply

