Punta Alta

I just took my last trip in Argentina. It feels weird to write that after spending what feels like years here. I’ve been to Córdoba, Mendoza, Iguazu, Bariloche, San Juan, El Chalten, El Calafate, Punta Alta, and Bahía Blanca. And, of course, I’ve spent months here in Buenos Aires.

This weekend was the 200th anniversary of Argentine independence, so the country had a huge bicentennial celebration. My roommate and I spent our 4 days (Monday & Tuesday were both holidays) about 9 hours south of BsAs in a little town called Punta Alta, about 30 minutes from the much larger city of Bahía Blanca.

Two Argentine friends of ours took us around their town and the surrounding countryside. But, really, the trip wasn’t about sightseeing; it was about food.

The picture above is of the best asado that I’ve had to date, and I’ve had some good ones. We had chorizo, morcilla, chinchulines, matambre a la pizza, and costillas (sausage, blood sausage, intestines, flank steak with tomato sauce and cheese, and ribs). Absolutely rocked my world. And it was all cooked on a custom indoor parrilla built by my friend’s grandfather, who moved to Argentina from Italy only 50 years ago. It was, as my friend Eli said, “una obra de arte” (a work of art).

And that was only one meal. I had amazing fondue, pizza, more steak, empanadas, locro (a traditional pork stew with beans), an incredible coconut torte with dulce de leche. This could go on and on.

I think these may have been the best 4 days of eating that I’ve done and a badly needed vacation. Now, back to the grind and back to the gym…

1 Comment

Filed under BA, travel

One response to “Punta Alta

  1. Madre

    Great photo!!

Leave a Reply

